Cheese Makes The World Go Round

Cheddar cheese from Bravo Farms, Traver, Calif...

Cheddar cheese from Bravo Farms, Traver, California (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

Being a clean eater doesn’t mean that I’m a “vegan” – it simply means that I only consume foods that are free of chemicals, preservatives, synthetic dyes and synthetic flavors. That being said, I could probably live without dairy if it wasn’t for my absolute favorite food enhancer (and food altogether) – CHEESE. I LOVE CHEESE. I could eat cheese all day, every day, with every meal. I wouldn’t poop for a very long time, but I probably wouldn’t care. I could eat cheese with anything – including fruit. When I was a kid, I remember sharing plates of white Vermont sharp cheddar cheese and jalapenos with my mom as a snack. It was quick, easy, and the jalapenos cleared my sinuses better than any over the counter medicine I have ever taken lol! Cheese is something that I feel like I will literally die without if I weren’t allowed to consume it. I love pretty much all cheese, except one – the evil, sinister “cheese” they call Swiss.

 

I’m sure Swiss people are some of the most awesome people in the world – but their cheese sucks. It tastes like a mixture of smelly armpit, feet, and cardboard. The fact that it has holes doesn’t sit right with me either. Whoever actually invented Swiss cheese must have thought that their dirty socks were pretty tasty. I mean, do people really like eating their own dirty socks? Is that what all the fuss behind Swiss cheese is about? Seriously, to call it “cheese” puts shame to the very good name of cheese. Fuck “Swiss cheese”.

 

On a side note, cheese is used in A LOT of popular recipes. My favorite cheeses have to be parmesan, mozzarella, (I’m Italian, it comes with the heritage I suppose, since even ancient Romans had special parts of their kitchen just for making cheese – called a careale [pronounced car-a-al-e]), medium cheddar, and havarti. All of which are good on grilled cheese sandwiches – another favorite. As a topping, you can use it on virtually anything – chips, tacos, burritos, salads, burgers – and as a filler in stuffed meat recipes, sandwiches, appetizers-the list goes on and on! To me, cheese makes the world go round, and is something that most popular cultures today have in common. Even though the U.S. is the top producer of cheese in the world, I tried some of the sharpest, and most delicious cheddar I’ve ever had when I was 16, on my summer vacation in Dublin, Ireland, with my father. It was absolutely divine – and no cheese here compares. Thankfully our local commissary sells some imported cheese from Dublin, because I would hate to never eat it again. Did you know that cheese is actually over 4,000 years old? Remains of cheese were found in Egyptian tombs, dating about 4,000 years in the past. They obviously had very good taste!

Cheese is a favorite among my family as well. It’s a good snack for kids when you want to give them something healthy. My son Gavin is a very picky eater, but he loves cheese. Organic cheese sticks are his favorite snack aside from apples and carrots. If I don’t give him cheese at least once a day, the day doesn’t seem right to him. For me, it’s a favorite with spicy food or an anytime snack, and my daughter loves macaroni and cheese so far. I’m so thankful we can continue to enjoy cheese!

 

Cheese facts came from: http://www.10-facts-about.com/Cheese/id/44

 

Leave a Reply

