“Ewwwww! Mom, what is THAT?”

Image

My son, Gavin, is the most lovable, helpful, – and forthright kid I know. He speaks his mind without any type of filter. Sometimes, it’s really really funny, and others, it’s, well, irritating.

Now that we are clean eaters, he will often ask me what’s for dinner, what’s in dinner, etc. He wants to know every little detail. On the nights that he doesn’t ask, he will simply walk out of his room right as I am plating our food as if he has “foodar” (food radar). He will take one look at his plate and find SOMETHING that doesn’t look “quite right” to him. Last night, we had stuffed tricolor peppers with marinara, colby jack slices on top (because I didn’t have any mozzarella and I didn’t feel like going to the store), and an organic superfood pilaf I bought at my favorite store, Trader Joes, on the side. The pilaf contained organic quinoa, kale, red bell pepper, carrots, and sweet potatoes. Though it was actually quite good, he took one look at it, wrinkled his nose, and goes:

“Mom, that looks like someone barfed all over my plate.”

Of course I smirked, because it was a bit funny. But in order to keep our principles, I sent him to his room for complaining about dinner YET AGAIN. Some may not agree with the method, but he comes out ten minutes later much more gracious and ready to eat his food. Nine times out of ten, he will try a new item and actually like it.

Point is, I am dealing with an extremely picky eater, and I am trying to find ways to open his mind about food. I’ve done the usual “hide vegetables in casseroles and things” method and he ALWAYS seems to find and pick out what he doesn’t like. The only fruit and vegetables he will eat are carrots, broccoli, pineapples, and apples. I know this isn’t bad, but I would like him to try more. I even try things (like mushrooms) that I don’t particularly like to see if he will eat them. Doesn’t work. I have to say I am proud of his stubborn will, because that will make him much less prone to peer pressure, but to raise that kid can be difficult at times, especially when it comes to food.

From all of this, I have finally learned that he and food will always have tension, kind of like North Korea and the U.S. (although I don’t think he will threaten nukes on quinoa). 

One thought on ““Ewwwww! Mom, what is THAT?”

Leave a Reply

